Suspended License FAQ
A suspended license in California is a tricky situation to deal with. The legal side is complex and you need help.
► As you read this FAQ, consider calling our law firm today at (818) 213-5130 for your FREE CONSULTATION regarding your suspended license.
These are some of the most common questions we receive about a California suspend driving license:
What is a Suspended License?
Your license may be suspended for any number of reasons. These can range from reckless driving to a DUI. Other reasons include vandalism and a failure to pay child support.
What are the Consequences of a Suspended License?
In California, the minimum suspension length is usually 30 days. There may also be other punishments, including fines and even prison time.
Get your FREE Consultation by calling (818) 213-5130 today to learn more
Who has the Authority to Revoke My License?
There are only two bodies with the authority to revoke your license. A suspended license may be handed out by either a court or the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
What Do I Need to Do to Get my License Back?
The exact steps depend entirely on what you did to have your license suspended. The minimum is usually to serve out your suspension.
But you may also be ordered to pay fines, attend traffic school, or serve a mandatory prison sentence. Therefore, you need to examine the reasons for your suspension.
How Much Does It Cost to Get my License Reinstated?
When you petition to have your license reinstated, you will have to pay fees in addition to your fine. The current administrative fee in California for your suspended license is $55.
There may be other fees attached. For example, it’s $24 if your suspension involved drugs and $15 for court-imposed restrictions.
Can an Attorney Help Me?
An attorney plays a vital role in helping you through the reinstatement process, guiding you during this stressful time, and even reducing your punishment.
► Call us today at (818) 213-5130 and we’ll give you a free consultation, regarding what we can do for you.
How Can an Attorney Reduce My Punishment?
Attorneys can act on your behalf to put other options on the table. For example, a first-time offender may be able to avoid a suspension through pledging to attend a California traffic school.
There are many options on the table.
How Does the Points System Work?
In California, if you accumulate too many points on your license you can have it suspended. The current counts for when a suspension triggers are:
4 points in a period of 12 months
6 points in a period of 24 months
8 points in a period of 36 months
What is the Role of Traffic School?
Traffic school is an opportunity to avoid a suspension or remove points from your license. Attending traffic school in California is easy.
The school will teach good traffic habits and offer a certificate of completion that can be used as proof of your time there.
Get Your Free Consultation
For help with traffic school, or any of the other issues displayed on this page, call us today at (818) 213-5130 and we’ll provide you with the help you need via our FREE consultation